NYCC Board of Directors Elects New Chair

New York, New York [January 30, 2024] — The New York Composers Circle Board of Directors elected Clifford Hall as the new Chair, who assumed the position on January 1, 2024. Mr. Hall has been a member of the board since 2021. The New York Composers Circle, a leading organization dedicated to creating and performing contemporary new music, extends its heartfelt appreciation to Richard Brooks, the outgoing Board Chairman, for his exceptional leadership and unwavering guidance throughout the past five years. Brooks will remain on the Board as the Secretary of the Board.

Under Dr. Brooks' stewardship, the New York Composers Circle has flourished, achieving significant milestones and realizing its mission of fostering creativity and innovation in contemporary new music. His invaluable contributions have laid a strong foundation for the organization's continued success and growth.

Continue reading . . .

Upcoming Events:

  • Wednesday, March 13, 7:00 PM — STRUCTURAL PERMUTATIONS, Church of the Transfiguration, “Little Church Around the Corner.” 1 East 29th Street, New York City. Music by Anthony Izzo, Eric Heilner, Sami Seif, Richard Brooks, Kurt C. Nelson, Peter Kelsh, and Carl Kanter. Tickets go on sale February 28th and may be purchased by clicking HERE.

  • Salon #7: Sunday, March 24, 2024, 2:00-5:00 PM — This VIRTUAL event is only available via ZOOM with presentations by member composers. A link to join the call will be published the week of the Salon.

  • Wednesday, April 10, 7:00 PM — MIRRORS, Church of the Transfiguration, “Little Church Around the Corner.” 1 East 29th Street, New York City. Music by Timothy Miller, Paul Aljian, Nataliya Medvedovskaya, Barret Kalellis, Robert S. Cohen, Alla Borzova, and David Mecionis. Click HERE to view the program. Tickets will go on sale on March 27 and may be purchased by clicking HERE. (See flier below.)

Please click HERE or on the Current Season tab under Calendar in the menu to view upcoming concert dates.


We want to welcome the following composers as new New York Composers Circle members. Each brings a diverse background of experiences and musical eclecticism to our ever-evolving roster of composers, which now stands at 57 active members and two honorary members.

Victor Xie, Alexa Canales, John Wineglass, Galen Brown, Judith Lynn Stillman, Peter Traunmueller, and Yotam Ishay.

Also new to the ranks through complimentary one-year membership are 2023 Honorary Mentions in the John Eaton Memorial Competition Kurt Nelson and Sami Seif, and 2023 Winner of the John Eaton Memorial Competition Will Stackpole.

Welcome to the Circle.

Victor Xie

Alexa Canales

Yotam Ishay

John Wineglass

Galen Brown

Judith Lynn Stillman

Peter Traunmueller

Kurt C. Nelson

Sami Seif

Will Stackpole


Tania León, the 78-year-old Cuban-born composer, won the Pulitzer Prize in Music on Friday for her orchestral work Stride. The Pulitzer jury described the 15-minute piece as a "musical journey full of surprise, with powerful brass and rhythmic motifs that incorporate Black music traditions from the U.S. and the Caribbean into a Western orchestral fabric." The two other finalists were Place, by Ted Hearne and Data Lordsby Maria Schneider, both recordings. 

Stride received its world premiere by the New York Philharmonic at Lincoln Center Feb. 13, 2020. The music was born out of Project 19, an ambitious commissioning program where 19 women composers were chosen to write music to mark the centennial of the ratification of the 19th Amendment, which gave women the right to vote. León's inspiration was Susan B. Anthony, the women's rights activist and a prominent leader in the suffrage movement.

Reached by telephone Friday afternoon at her home in Nyack, N.Y., León said she was the first musician in her poor Havana family. Her success was a dream of her mother and, especially, her grandmother, who suspected that she was interested in music. "They created a dream and I grabbed the dream and went into the world, and here I am," León said.

Continue reading at NPR . . .  

Archives of Past Performances

We have meticulously documented past performances of New York Composers Circle through videos and photographs. To watch videos of past performances, please click the YouTube button below where you will find videos of every concert dating back to the 2013-2014 Concert Season, as well as special video performances such as The Dreamflower Sessions that stemmed from the recent lockdowns that precluded our ability to host live concert events. To view our photo gallery such as those at right, please click the Photo Gallery button below.

YouTube Videos

Don't Miss Out

To be a regular subscriber to the New York Composers Circle, please enter your name and email address in the form provided and submit it to receive periodic emails announcing concerts and events, as well as special announcements from our IN THE LOOP blog. We look forward to being in touch.

Thank you for subscribing.